Skip to content

Comparison

ScaFix vs ScaffPlan

ScaffPlan Design is scaffold design software that runs inside SketchUp or Tekla; ScaFix is a browser and iPhone app that plans facade scaffolds from wall measurements. The names sound alike, but ScaFix is not related to ScaffPlan: different companies, different products (scafix.app, Norway; scaffplan.com, ScaffPlan Pty Ltd). Written by the maker of ScaFix, one of the tools compared. Every ScaffPlan fact comes from scaffplan.com, read on 25 October 2026; corrections to support@scafix.app.

· How the numbers are computed ·

Layher Allround scaffolding around a house of 11.4 × 5.3 m with a gabled roof (eaves 4.5 m, ridge 6 m), drawn by the ScaFix 3D model
Layher Allround around the example house, as ScaFix draws it in 3D.

Is ScaFix or ScaffPlan the better choice?

ScaffPlan suits designers who model scaffolds in SketchUp or Tekla, need engineering checks inside Tekla and can budget an annual per-user licence (from GBP 2,600). ScaFix suits contractors who want a facade scaffold, a 3D model and a parts list in the browser or on an iPhone, without CAD software or structural checks.

ScaFix and ScaffPlan side by side

As each vendor publishes it, read on 25 October 2026. «Not stated» means the vendor's pages do not say.
ScaFixScaffPlan DesignChecked
Runs onBrowser (PC, Mac, Android) and a native iPhone app, one account; nothing to install on a computerA plug-in inside SketchUp or Tekla («works inside SketchUp and Tekla today»; Revit «coming soon»)25 October 2026
How a plan startsWall lengths and heights typed in, a PDF floor plan, or a LiDAR scan with the iPhone appModelling in the host program with scaffold-specific design tools25 October 2026
Scaffold systems108 systems from 56 manufacturers in one picker (frame, modular/ringlock, cuplock and others)Several brands; the pages read list no system names25 October 2026
Structural checkNone: a planning aid, not a structural calculation or approvalEngineering checks run inside Tekla25 October 2026
What you get3D model and a complete parts list; CSV or Excel export and a PDF quote in ProDesign model and gear lists from it; estimating and stock are separate products25 October 2026
Price modelWeekly Pro subscription, or yearly Basic Light, Basic and Pro plans; amounts below, from the price listAnnual licence per user: SketchUp GBP 2,600, Tekla GBP 3,550, Bundle GBP 5,025 a year; Enterprise GBP 12,825 billed annually. Monthly payment is an instalment on the annual licence25 October 2026
TrialNo free plan or free trial; the first week of Pro is sold at a low price, then weekly until cancelledDesign starts with a free trial (length not stated); Sales & Estimating: «your first 14 days are free»25 October 2026
On a phonePlans are made on the iPhone itself (native app) or in a phone browserNot stated for design work25 October 2026
Stock and estimatingOne parts stock per account with a shortage list; no rental, dispatch or invoicingSales & Estimating (quotes) and Assets (stock across yards, branches and sites) as separate products25 October 2026
VendorScaFix, Norway (seller: Ole Emil Frikstad Urstad)ScaffPlan Pty Ltd; country not stated on the pages read25 October 2026

Two different jobs: detailed design and fast planning

ScaffPlan is built for the scaffold designer. You draw the scaffold in a CAD-style 3D program that your office may already use for other work: SketchUp for quick models, Tekla when a project needs detail and engineering. The gear list comes from that model, and in Tekla the design can be checked by engineering rules before it goes to site.

ScaFix is built for the person who has to say, today, what a facade scaffold on a house or a block will need. You give the wall lengths and heights (or open a PDF drawing, or scan the walls with an iPhone), pick the system your yard stocks, and the app draws the scaffold in 3D and counts the parts. There is no CAD program to learn and no plug-in to license.

What the price difference means in practice

ScaffPlan publishes its tiers per user per year: GBP 2,600 for the SketchUp tier, GBP 3,550 for Tekla and GBP 5,025 for the bundle of both, with Enterprise at GBP 12,825 billed annually. The same page lists USD prices (USD 3,350, 4,800 and 6,675; Enterprise USD 16,675) and EUR prices (EUR 3,055, 4,225 and 5,942.50; Enterprise EUR 15,357.50). Paying monthly spreads the annual licence; ScaffPlan says that cancelling early does not end the commitment.

ScaFix sells a weekly Pro subscription and yearly plans; the amounts are in the price paragraph below, filled from the price list itself. A firm that designs engineered scaffolds every day will judge ScaffPlan by its engineering value, not by the licence fee. A small contractor who plans a few facade jobs a month will rarely need Tekla.

Where each one stops

ScaffPlan names checks only for Tekla; its SketchUp tier is presented as fast 3D design «without needing CAD experience». Revit support is announced but not out. Its estimating and stock tools are separate products with their own trial.

ScaFix stops before engineering: it does not check loads, ties or stability, and it does not produce CAD drawings. It keeps one parts stock per account and exports the parts list, but it does not run rentals, dispatch or invoices. When a scaffold needs a design calculation, the plan from ScaFix is the start of that work, not the end of it.

Pick ScaffPlan if…

  • your designers already model in SketchUp or Tekla and want the scaffold in the same model as the building;
  • projects need engineering checks inside the design tool (ScaffPlan names them for Tekla);
  • you want design, estimating and stock tracking from one vendor (Design, Sales & Estimating and Assets);
  • an annual per-user licence from GBP 2,600 fits the volume of design work.

Pick ScaFix if…

  • you plan facade scaffolds for houses and blocks and want the parts list in minutes, without a CAD program;
  • people plan on site with an iPhone, or on any computer with a browser;
  • your yard stocks one of 108 systems from 56 manufacturers, including Nordic frame systems;
  • a weekly or yearly plan suits you better than an annual per-user CAD licence.

What ScaFix does not do

  • No structural analysis: no FEM, no load or tie calculation, no stability check. ScaFix is a planning aid, not structural approval.
  • No CAD or BIM drawings (.dwg, IFC export) and no Tekla, SketchUp or Revit plug-in.
  • No rental management: no hire periods, dispatch, returns or invoicing (one parts stock per account only).
  • No free plan.
Close-up of the corner where the long wall and the gable wall meet, with Layher Allround standards, decks, guardrails and toe boards in the ScaFix 3D model
The corner: the bays of the two walls meet, with deck, guardrail and toe board on each lift.

What ScaFix costs

From ScaFix's own price list: the first week of Pro costs €0.98, then €9.98 a week until you cancel (cancel in the first week and access ends at once). The yearly plans cost €39.90 (Basic Light), €79.90 (Basic) and €149.90 (Pro) a year. Rounded corners, silos, hanging scaffolds, hoists and mobile and stair towers are Pro only.

Questions and answers

Is ScaFix part of ScaffPlan?

No. ScaFix (scafix.app, Norway) and ScaffPlan (scaffplan.com, ScaffPlan Pty Ltd) are separate companies with separate products. The similar names are a coincidence.

Does ScaffPlan run in a browser or on a phone?

ScaffPlan Design runs inside SketchUp or Tekla, with Revit announced as «coming soon» (read on 25 October 2026). ScaFix runs in the browser on PC, Mac and Android and as a native iPhone app.

How much does ScaffPlan cost?

ScaffPlan's pricing page lists, per user per year: GBP 2,600 (SketchUp), GBP 3,550 (Tekla) and GBP 5,025 (Bundle); Enterprise is GBP 12,825, billed annually. Monthly payment is an instalment on the annual licence (read on 25 October 2026).

Does ScaffPlan check the scaffold's structure?

ScaffPlan says engineering checks run inside Tekla. ScaFix does not check structures at all; a scaffold that needs a design calculation needs an engineer or a tool that does it.

Can I try ScaffPlan before buying?

ScaffPlan says Design starts with a free trial and guided setup, and that the first 14 days of Sales & Estimating are free (read on 25 October 2026). ScaFix has no free trial; its first week of Pro is sold at a low price.

Which scaffold systems does ScaFix cover?

108 systems from 56 manufacturers, among them Layher Allround and Blitz, HAKI, PERI UP, Plettac and Jamax. The system pages list each one's bay lengths and depths from the manufacturer's documents.

Is ScaFix the same as ScaffPlan?

No. ScaFix (scafix.app, Norway) is not related to ScaffPlan (scaffplan.com). ScaFix is browser and iPhone software that plans facade scaffolds of many makers' systems with a parts list.

Sources

ScaffPlan's own pages, read on 25 October 2026: the home page (platforms, products, trial) and the pricing page (tiers, currencies, billing terms).

  1. scaffplan.com
  2. scaffplan.com/scaffplan/pricing

Try one week – €0.98See the demo house in 3DSee ScaFix

First week €0.98, then €9.98/week. Full Pro. Cancel anytime.