Comparison
ScaFix vs scaffmax
scaffmax is German scaffold planning software built on SketchUp, which PERI Deutschland presents for solutions from the PERI UP scaffold kit. ScaFix is a browser and iPhone app that plans facade scaffolds from wall measurements, a PDF drawing or a scan, for PERI UP and for many other makers' systems. Written by the maker of ScaFix, one of the tools compared. Every scaffmax fact comes from peri.de and softguide.de, read on 25 October 2026; corrections to support@scafix.app.
By Ole Emil Frikstad Urstad · How the numbers are computed ·

Is scaffmax or ScaFix the right planning tool?
scaffmax is right for offices that model scaffolds in SketchUp, work mainly with PERI UP and want modules such as statics, birdcage scaffolds or GAEB output for German tenders. ScaFix is right for planning a facade scaffold quickly in a browser or on an iPhone, with the full parts list for any of 108 systems and no structural check.
ScaFix and scaffmax side by side
| ScaFix | scaffmax | Checked | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Runs on | Browser (PC, Mac, Android) and a native iPhone app, one account; nothing to install on a computer | Installed on site (on-premises) with SketchUp Pro; per softguide.de not web-based and not SaaS, network-capable | 25 October 2026 |
| How a plan starts | Wall lengths and heights typed in, a PDF floor plan, or a LiDAR scan with the iPhone app | Floor-plan drawing and CAD import; a PDF2SKP module (PDF to SketchUp) | 25 October 2026 |
| Scaffold systems | 108 systems from 56 manufacturers in one picker (frame, modular/ringlock, cuplock and others) | PERI presents it for the PERI UP kit; other systems not stated on the pages read | 25 October 2026 |
| Structural check | None: a planning aid, not a structural calculation or approval | A statics module and statics calculation (softguide.de) | 25 October 2026 |
| What you get | 3D model and a complete parts list; CSV or Excel export and a PDF quote in Pro | Parts list as PDF or Excel (peri.de); GAEB-XML output including erection time (softguide.de) | 25 October 2026 |
| Price model | Weekly Pro subscription, or yearly Basic Light, Basic and Pro plans; amounts below, from the price list | Not stated; PERI offers a free consultation | 25 October 2026 |
| Trial | No free plan or free trial; the first week of Pro is sold at a low price, then weekly until cancelled | Not clearly stated on the pages read | 25 October 2026 |
| On a phone | Plans are made on the iPhone itself (native app) or in a phone browser | softguide.de lists «scaffmax Apps» as a module; not described | 25 October 2026 |
| Other modules | One parts stock per account with a shortage list; no rental, dispatch or invoicing | Birdcage (Raumgerüst) module, A3 module (erection, dismantling, measurement), custom toe boards, scaffmax NETZWERK, scaffmax with Baubuddy, materials management | 25 October 2026 |
| Vendor | ScaFix, Norway (seller: Ole Emil Frikstad Urstad) | Seat in Germany per softguide.de; interface in German, English and French | 25 October 2026 |
A SketchUp model or an app on every device
scaffmax works inside SketchUp: the scaffold is built in the 3D model on a desktop computer, part by part from the kit, and the parts list comes out of the model. PERI describes it as replacing planning «with pen and paper». Teams that already know SketchUp stay in familiar software; others learn two programs at once.
ScaFix needs no CAD program. You enter the walls with their lengths and heights, open a PDF floor plan or scan the facade with the iPhone, choose the system in your yard, and the app draws the scaffold in 3D and counts the parts. The same account runs in the browser on PC and Mac and in the iPhone app on site.
PERI UP in both, and what else
PERI Deutschland's page presents scaffmax for «solutions from the PERI UP scaffold kit». Whether other makers' systems are included is not stated on the pages read on 25 October 2026.
ScaFix plans PERI UP and PERI UP Easy with the bay lengths from the manufacturer's documents, in the same tool as Layher Allround and Blitz, Plettac SL and Contur, HAKI, Hünnebeck, Scafom-Rux and many more: 108 systems from 56 manufacturers. A contractor with a mixed yard plans every job in one program.
Statics, GAEB and German tenders
softguide.de lists a statics module and a statics calculation for scaffmax, a GAEB-XML export of the parts list with erection time, and an A3 module for erection, dismantling and site measurement. GAEB is the German exchange format for tenders and bills of quantities; those tools serve firms that price and bill public and commercial work straight from the plan.
ScaFix calculates no statics, writes no GAEB and does not measure to DIN 18451. It gives the 3D model and the parts list; Pro exports the list as CSV or Excel and builds a PDF quote. When a scaffold needs a structural verification, the ScaFix plan is where that work starts.
The same job in both tools
In scaffmax a facade job goes like this: draw the floor plan in the office or bring a PDF plan into SketchUp with PDF2SKP, build the scaffold in the model from the PERI UP kit, add the statics or birdcage modules where needed, and output the parts list as PDF, Excel or GAEB-XML.
In ScaFix you enter the walls or open the PDF floor plan, set the height, scaffold width and system, and the app lays out the bays and lifts itself. The 3D model and parts list are ready at once, with corners, gables and sloping ground planned in. The plan on the iPhone on site is the same as the one in the office browser.
Pick scaffmax if…
- you plan in the office in SketchUp and want to build the scaffold part by part in the 3D model;
- your work is mostly PERI UP and you want PERI's consultation;
- you need a statics module, birdcage scaffolds or GAEB-XML output with erection time;
- an on-premises installation suits your IT better than a web service.
Pick ScaFix if…
- you plan facade scaffolds on houses and blocks quickly and need the parts list at once;
- plans are made on an iPhone on site or on a Mac in the office;
- your yard holds several makers: PERI UP next to Layher, Plettac, HAKI or Hünnebeck;
- you want to read the price on the website without booking a consultation.
What ScaFix does not do
- No structural analysis: no FEM, no load or tie calculation, no stability verification. ScaFix is a planning aid, not structural approval.
- No CAD drawings, no SketchUp model, no GAEB output and no site measurement.
- No rental management: no hire periods, dispatch, returns or invoicing.
- No free plan.

What ScaFix costs
From ScaFix's own price list: the first week of Pro costs €0.98, then €9.98 a week until you cancel (cancel in the first week and access ends at once). The yearly plans cost €39.90 (Basic Light), €79.90 (Basic) and €149.90 (Pro) a year. Rounded corners, silos, hanging scaffolds, hoists and mobile and stair towers are Pro only.
Questions and answers
What is scaffmax?
Scaffold planning software built on SketchUp. PERI Deutschland presents it for solutions from the PERI UP scaffold kit; the parts list exports as PDF or Excel (peri.de, read on 25 October 2026).
How much does scaffmax cost?
Neither peri.de nor softguide.de states a price (read on 25 October 2026); PERI points to a free consultation. ScaFix's prices are on this page, from its price list.
Does scaffmax run in a browser?
Not according to softguide.de: scaffmax is installed on-premises and is neither web-based nor SaaS. ScaFix runs in the browser and as an iPhone app.
Does ScaFix plan PERI UP?
Yes: PERI UP and PERI UP Easy, with the bay lengths from the manufacturer's documents, among 108 systems in the catalogue.
Is ScaFix an alternative to scaffmax?
For planning facade scaffolds with a parts list across makers, yes. For SketchUp models, a statics module, birdcage scaffolds and GAEB output, scaffmax does more.
Sources
PERI Deutschland's scaffmax product page and the softguide.de software directory listing, both read on 25 October 2026.
Try one week – €0.98See the demo house in 3DSee ScaFix
First week €0.98, then €9.98/week. Full Pro. Cancel anytime.