Skip to content

Alternatives

Scaffcalc alternatives

Scaffcalc is a browser-based scaffold design tool from Gothenburg with quotations from the 3D model and FEM in its Engineering package. This page lists the other tools that plan scaffolds, one row each, with what their vendors publish, so you can see which one covers what you would use Scaffcalc for. Written by the maker of ScaFix, one of the tools compared. ScaFix stands last in the list, not first. Every other row comes from that vendor's own pages, read on 25 October 2026; corrections to support@scafix.app.

· How the numbers are computed ·

HAKI Universal scaffolding (2.5 m bays, 1.01 m deep) around a house of 11.4 × 5.3 m with a gabled roof (eaves 4.5 m, ridge 6 m), drawn by the ScaFix 3D model
HAKI Universal (2.5 m bays, 1.01 m deep) around the example house, as ScaFix draws it in 3D.

What are the alternatives to Scaffcalc?

The main Scaffcalc alternatives are Avontus Designer (Windows, catalogues from over 40 manufacturers), ScaffPlan (SketchUp and Tekla), SMART Estimator (UK, TG20:21), NTI SCAFFPLANNER (Revit), Layher LayPLAN CAD, iScaf, scaffmax and PERI QuickSolve. ScaFix is the browser and iPhone option for facade scaffolds of 108 systems, without structural checks.

Alternatives to Scaffcalc, one row each

Each row as its vendor publishes it, read on 25 October 2026. Scaffcalc itself, for reference: browser without installation, 18 systems listed, IFC import, quotations, FEM in the Engineering package, custom pricing.
Tool (vendor)Runs onSystemsStructural checkQuotesPrice, trialSource
Avontus Designer (Avontus)WindowsRinglock, cuplock, Kwikstage; catalogues from over 40 manufacturersNot statedNot in Designer; Avontus Quantify does estimatesUSD 199–299 every 28 days + USD 545–645 start-up feeavontus.com, checked 25 October 2026
iScaf (Scaffolding Software)Windows 11 x64Ringlock, Layher, Cuplock, Kwikstage, Frame + regional modules; no pure tube and clampNot statedEstimating workflow; iQuote is a separate productContact sales; demo video and PDFsscaffoldingsoftware.com, checked 25 October 2026
Layher LayPLAN CAD (Layher)AutoCAD 2017–2022 or BricsCAD plug-in, WindowsLayher systemsExports to RSTAB for the analysisNot statedLicence through myLayher; 30 days free after installationlayher.com, checked 25 October 2026
NTI SCAFFPLANNER (NTI)Revit 2024–2026 plug-inAlusafe, Alustar, HAKI, Layher, SolidecAutomatic strength calculationsNot statedTailored quote; personalised demonti-group.com, checked 25 October 2026
PERI QuickSolve (PERI)Browser, computer or tabletPERI systems (formwork, scaffolding, bridges)The bridge planner verifies staticallyNot statedFree of chargeperi-usa.com, checked 25 October 2026
scaffmaxOn-premises with SketchUp ProPresented by PERI for PERI UPStatics module (softguide.de)Not stated; GAEB-XML outputNo price statedperi.de, softguide.de, checked 25 October 2026
ScaffPlan Design (ScaffPlan Pty Ltd)SketchUp or Tekla plug-inSeveral brands (not listed)Engineering checks inside TeklaSeparate Sales & Estimating productGBP 2,600–5,025 per user a year (Enterprise GBP 12,825); free trialscaffplan.com, checked 25 October 2026
SMART Estimator (SMART Scaffolder)Windows 10/11; browser and phone apps for other productsTube and fitting, Cuplok, Haki, Layher, Turner Octo, Plettac Metrix, Kwikstage, frameTG20:21 checks for tube and fittingAuto-generated quotationsSubscription on request; trial after a callsmartscaffolder.com, checked 25 October 2026
ScaFix (ScaFix, Norway)Browser (PC, Mac, Android) + iPhone app108 systems from 56 manufacturersNone (planning aid)PDF quote in ProWeekly Pro or yearly plans (amounts below)scafix.app, checked 25 October 2026

What you lose and keep when you leave Scaffcalc

Scaffcalc combines three things that rarely sit in one product: it runs in the browser without installation, it builds quotations from the 3D model, and its Engineering package adds «verified load analysis and FEM». It lists 18 systems, from Layher Allround and Speedy to PERI UP, HAKI Universal, Plettac and Solideq, and imports IFC models.

No tool on this list matches that mix one to one. The desktop and CAD tools (Avontus Designer, ScaffPlan, SMART Estimator, NTI SCAFFPLANNER, LayPLAN CAD, iScaf, scaffmax) are stronger at drawings and BIM; several have checks, but none of them runs in a browser. The browser tools (PERI QuickSolve, ScaFix) are lighter: QuickSolve for PERI products only, ScaFix for facade scaffolds of many makers without checks.

If the structural check is why you use Scaffcalc

Look at ScaffPlan in Tekla, NTI SCAFFPLANNER in Revit and SMART Estimator for UK tube and fitting work. ScaffPlan says its engineering checks run inside Tekla; NTI lists automatic strength calculations; CADS describes SMART Calculations as checking leg loads, tie duty and bridge beams to TG20:21. Layher's LayPLAN CAD hands the model to RSTAB for the analysis instead of doing it itself.

ScaFix is not an option here: it calculates no loads and gives no structural approval.

If the browser and the quick quote are why

Then the question is which systems you plan. PERI QuickSolve is free and browser-based, but only for PERI products. ScaFix runs in the browser on PC, Mac and Android and as a native iPhone app, starts from wall measurements, a PDF floor plan or a LiDAR scan, and gives the facade scaffold with its full parts list for 108 systems; Pro adds the PDF quote and CSV or Excel export.

Scaffcalc prices on request after a short form; ScaFix publishes its prices, shown below from its price list.

How this list was made

A tool is listed only if its vendor publishes a product page for scaffold planning or design that could be read on 25 October 2026. Facts are copied from those pages; where a page does not state something, the cell says so. scaffmax is described through PERI Deutschland's product page and the softguide.de directory, because those are the public pages that describe it. No tool is rated or ranked; the rows are in alphabetical order, with ScaFix last because ScaFix publishes this page.

Where you work matters

Several tools here are shaped by one market: SMART by UK guidance (TG20:21), scaffmax by German tenders (GAEB) and PERI UP, NTI by industrial BIM work. Scaffcalc itself is Swedish and lists Nordic systems such as Solideq next to Layher and PERI. Check that the tool you pick knows the systems in your yard before anything else.

Pick another tool if…

  • you need FEM or engineering checks: ScaffPlan (Tekla), NTI SCAFFPLANNER (Revit), SMART (TG20:21, tube and fitting) or LayPLAN CAD with RSTAB;
  • you design complex system scaffolds on Windows with catalogues from many makers: Avontus Designer or iScaf;
  • you plan only PERI or only Layher products: PERI QuickSolve, scaffmax, LayPLAN;
  • the whole firm already works in SketchUp, Tekla, AutoCAD or Revit.

Pick ScaFix if…

  • you want Scaffcalc's no-install convenience, plus a native iPhone app for planning on site;
  • your jobs are facade scaffolds and the parts list matters more than a structural calculation;
  • your yard stocks a system Scaffcalc does not list, such as Jamax, HAKI Ram or Alfix;
  • you prefer a published weekly or yearly price to a custom quote.

What ScaFix does not do

  • No FEM, load or stability calculation. ScaFix is a planning aid, not structural approval.
  • No IFC import or export and no CAD drawings.
  • No rental management: no hire, dispatch, returns or invoicing.
  • No free plan.
Plettac SL 70/100 scaffolding along a 27.5 m long facade with a gabled roof, eaves 7 m, in the ScaFix 3D model
Plettac SL 70/100 along a 27.5 m facade.

What ScaFix costs

From ScaFix's own price list: the first week of Pro costs €0.98, then €9.98 a week until you cancel (cancel in the first week and access ends at once). The yearly plans cost €39.90 (Basic Light), €79.90 (Basic) and €149.90 (Pro) a year. Rounded corners, silos, hanging scaffolds, hoists and mobile and stair towers are Pro only.

Questions and answers

Is there a free alternative to Scaffcalc?

PERI QuickSolve is free of charge, for PERI products only (peri-usa.com, read on 25 October 2026). Layher's LayPLAN programs run free for 30 days after installation, then need a licence. ScaFix has no free plan.

Which Scaffcalc alternative has structural calculations?

ScaffPlan (engineering checks inside Tekla), NTI SCAFFPLANNER (automatic strength calculations in Revit) and SMART Calculations (TG20:21, tube and fitting). LayPLAN CAD exports to RSTAB, where the analysis is done.

Which Scaffcalc alternative runs in a browser?

PERI QuickSolve (PERI products) and ScaFix (facade scaffolds of 108 systems, also as an iPhone app). The other tools on this page are Windows programs or CAD plug-ins.

Which Scaffcalc alternatives publish prices?

Avontus Designer (from USD 199 every 28 days plus a start-up fee), ScaffPlan (from GBP 2,600 per user a year) and ScaFix. PERI QuickSolve is free. The others quote on request (read on 25 October 2026).

Is ScaFix a Scaffcalc alternative?

For facade scaffolds with a 3D model and parts list, in the browser or on an iPhone, yes. For FEM, IFC and quotations as part of every plan, Scaffcalc does more; see the ScaFix vs Scaffcalc page for the two side by side.

Sources

Each vendor's own pages, read on 25 October 2026: Scaffcalc (home and pricing), Avontus, Scaffolding Software (iScaf), Layher (LayPLAN CAD and the LayPLAN SUITE), NTI, PERI (QuickSolve), PERI Deutschland and softguide.de (scaffmax), ScaffPlan, SMART Scaffolder and CADS.

  1. scaffcalc.com/en
  2. scaffcalc.com/en/pricing
  3. avontus.com/Designer
  4. avontus.com/designer/purchase
  5. avontus.com/quantify/purchase
  6. scaffoldingsoftware.com/iscaf
  7. scaffoldingsoftware.com
  8. layher.com/en/products/layplan-suite/overlay_layplan-cad
  9. layher.com/en/LayPLAN-SUITE
  10. prod.nti-group.com/uk/products/nti-products/nti-scaffplanner
  11. peri-usa.com/products/peri-quicksolve.html
  12. peri.de/produkte/scaffmax-geruestbau-planungssoftware.…
  13. softguide.de/programm/scaffmax
  14. scaffplan.com
  15. scaffplan.com/scaffplan/pricing
  16. smartscaffolder.com
  17. smartscaffolder.com/scaffolding-software/scaffold-estimating-softw…
  18. smartscaffolder.com/help-centre/faqs
  19. smartscaffolder.com/help-centre/smart-manager/smart-manager-home-p…
  20. cads.co.uk/portfolio-item/smart-calculations

Try one week – €0.98See the demo house in 3DSee ScaFix

First week €0.98, then €9.98/week. Full Pro. Cancel anytime.